Review: Maybelline Volum’ Express The Mega Plush Waterproof Mascara

If you’ve read my Beauty Battle post between Benefit’s They’re Real and Kat Von D’s Immortal Lash you’ll have seen me mention this mascara at the very end. It has been years since I’ve used this product but I’ve always remembered it as a favourite. While in Priceline recently buying my mom cold medicine, I thought ‘hey, might as well get it again and see if it’s still as good as I remember it’.

Maybelline has a massive range of mascaras, and I definitely haven’t tried them all. But I have tried a few and this one is by far my favourite. The thing that I’ve always noticed about Maybelline’s mascaras is that they really do seem to put a lot of effort into differentiating their mascaras, with very different formulations and wands that actually make a difference in their application.

IMG_5186

The Mega Plush mascara is Maybelline’s first gel mousse formula which means it contains 40% less hard waxes. This makes the formula super smooth and easy to apply. Plus, it never goes flaky and doesn’t make your lashes look clumpy or brittle.

The wand is big and fluffy and coats each lash evenly. I haven’t yet stabbed myself in the eye with it or accidentally also coated a decent chunk of my eyelid which is always a bonus.

IMG_5212

The formula itself is also fantastic, as I said it’s a gel mousse which is a deep black. This one is waterproof but it also comes as a non-waterproof version. In terms of the ingredients, like most mascaras its just a long list of chemicals. This mascara does have a very chemically smell so if that bothers you, you might not like this one. I personally don’t mind it and I’m pretty sure the smell goes away once applied as I’ve never noticed it once the bottle is closed again. Like a lot of Maybelline products, it’s made in the USA.

Packaging wise, it’s not the craziest looking mascara I’ve ever seen, but I like the colours and the relatively simple design. Priced at $19.95AUD it might not be the cheapest, but personally I think it’s well worth it.

The reason that I love this mascara is because it never makes my lashes clump, it gives them length and volume without making them look unnatural or feel heavy or irritated. On the Maybelline website it has received 228 reviews with an average score of 3 out of 5 – no idea how, I would definitely rate it 5 out of 5! But having a look at the reviews, a lot of people struggled with the super bendy brush. It is definitely something you have to get used to, but I actually think the brush is less bendy than others I’ve tried so I guess it depends on what you’ve used previously and what you’re accustomed to.

Overall I will definitely be repurchasing!

 

One thought on “Review: Maybelline Volum’ Express The Mega Plush Waterproof Mascara

Leave a Reply

