Review: Maybelline Baby Skin Pore Eraser

I realise I haven’t written in 2 months (oops!), but I wanted to get back into it with a good old fashioned make up review. So today I’m going to be reviewing Maybelline’s Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser. On the Maybelline website it has received 52 reviews and an average score of 3 out of 5. The reviews were incredibly mixed, with some users saying they loved it and others stating that they saw absolutely no difference in either the appearance of their skin or their make up application or appearance. As we all know, every single piece of make up or skin care works differently based on your skin type, skin tone and the formulation of the product. Everyone’s different and frankly, no one should expect every product to work perfectly for them. This is my experience of the product and all my thoughts are based on how the product worked for my skin.

Now, onto the review.

IMG_5183

The Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser has the same style and colour palette of the Baby Lips products. It’s cute and colourful and the packaging is pretty fun. It’s decently sized at 20ml and at $15.95AUD the price isn’t too shabby.

In terms of the ingredients, it’s just a big list of chemicals so I really couldn’t tell you whats in it, if it’s even good for your skin, or if any of the ingredients are natural. It is made in the USA, so that’s a plus.

IMG_5185

Baby Skin supposedly has ‘blur technology’ (whatever that means), to me that sounds like it’s the IRL ‘smooth’ feature in FaceTune. To apply the product, pop a pea-sized amount on your palm or fingers and apply to areas with visible pores. Because I’m lazy I just apply it to my entire face.

IMG_5201

Word of warning, use this as soon as you put it on your hand, as otherwise it kind of solidifies a bit and goes jelly like when you try to spread it over your hands to apply. It doesn’t stay that way and softens back up almost immediately but it can feel and look a bit weird.

When you apply it, it doesn’t feel greasy per say, but your skin does feel incredibly smooth and well, maybe a little bit plastic would be the way to describe it. To be clear, this isn’t a bad sensation and I definitely feel like I’m describing it terribly. My skin felt instantly smoother and looked brighter. The first time I used it I didn’t apply any foundation, concealer or powder at all. I went to see my hairdresser afterwards and he complimented my skin, saying I had a nice glow and it looked really good and healthy – even though I had a couple of pimples and was really tired. Luckily thanks to this product I didn’t look exhausted which is nice, it didn’t cover my pimples but to be fair it never said it would.

It’s oil-free and shine-free and has no discernible scent unlike some chemical-heavy products. In terms of how it works, I’m not entirely sure, but it claims that the blur technology  filters light  to visibly smooth pores away. Did my pores disappear? Nah. Did my skin look smoother and healthier? Yup. It’s one of those products that work well on their own and don’t feel heavy or irritating. I’ve also tried it just under translucent powder and I have to say it almost looked like I was one of those lucky people who have naturally flawless skin – which I’m definitely not BTW.

Where can you get it? I’m assuming all good drug stores, plus Kmart and Target. I got mine from Priceline when I went in to get cold medicine (oops).

Here’s what it looks like on. As an FYI, all I’m wearing here is the Baby Skin Pore Eraser, mascara and lip balm. This image is unedited and unfiltered and I think my skin looks pretty damn great here.

IMG_5191

 

Leave a Reply

