Review: Bioré Deep Cleaning Charcoal Pore Strips

Who here has blackheads on their nose? And who here can’t seem to EVER get rid of them, no matter what they try?

Blackheads are a common and annoying problem for most people, and unlike frequent pimples, they don’t seem to go away as you get older. I may only get a pimple every now and then these days instead of every other day like I did as a teen, but my blackheads are ever-present and always annoying. If you’re anything like me, you too have tried all the scrubs, washes, masks, and strips to get rid of those pesky blackheads.

I’ve had some success with Bioré‘s normal pore strips, and I quite liked their charcoal cleansing bar which left my skin minty fresh and feeling pretty good (but still full of blackheads). Based on that I thought I’d give their new pore strips with natural charcoal a go.

Here’s how it went.

IMG_4776

The packaging is very similar and the process is exactly the same – wash your face thoroughly, wet your nose, apply, wait 10-15 minutes and peel off.

IMG_4777

They’ve definitely hyped up the charcoal element, even the individual pore strip packages are black!

IMG_4779

Here’s what the strips look like when you take them out of the packaging. This is the non-sticky side and as you can see it is almost completely black with a few white specks.

So after I washed my face and wet my nose I of course had to take a pic of the sticky side.

IMG_4786

It’s a bit blurry but you get the idea, it’s black, sticky, and shiny.

When applying to your nose, make sure you use a bit of pressure to ensure maximum strip-to-skin contact, as this is supposed to give you the best results. Side note: I could have pummelled this thing into my skin and I still don’t think it would have made a difference.

And here’s what it looks like on. I have a bit of a long nose so it didn’t come down onto my cheeks very much.

IMG_4787

Another thing with these, the charcoal starts rubbing off as soon as the strip touches your wet skin, so I had a few smudges on and around my nose, and my fingertips turned grey. Definitely wash your hands thoroughly after applying.

I then waited the 15 minutes (ok 25 I got distracted!) and went to peel it off. By this point the strip was hard as a rock and pretty entertaining to just tap on. If you’re ever used the standard Bioré strips you’ll know that they’re eye-wateringly painful to take off. This one? Not so much…

It came off pretty easily and with no pain whatsoever, which probably gives you a clue as to its effectiveness. Now, as the strip is black it’s also much harder to see if it actually did anything, but here’s what it looked like after being peeled off my face.

IMG_4790

It does look like it removed a little bit of gunk, but when I looked in the mirror there was no obvious signs that any blackheads had been removed, so to be honest I don’t think it actually worked.

Removing the strip does leave behind a little charcoal so make sure you wash your nose off after using the strip, unless you want to walk around looking like you have dirt on your nose (each to their own!). The worst thing about this is that even though it didn’t really do anything, it did leave my nose red and really itchy for about an hour after I peeled it off.

Personally, I wouldn’t purchase this product again, it just wasn’t worth it.

Leave a Reply

