Beauty Battle: Benefit They’re Real V Kat Von D Immortal Lash

Let the beauty battle begin!

I’ve reviewed both the Benefit They’re Real mascara and the Kat Von D Immortal Lash mascara, now its time for them to go head to head in a battle of mascaras.

We’re going to be comparing the two products on 5 main features.

  1. Lengthening power
  2. Volume-adding power
  3. Staying power
  4. Colour
  5. Price

Lengthening Power

They're Real

They’re Real

Benefit They’re Real

They’re Real doesn’t offer too much in the way of lengthening power, it added maybe 1mm to my lashes. I have fairly short lashes so for me length is a major factor when it comes to the success of a mascara. Plus, the lashes on my inner and outer corners were sadly left out by the brush, so the overall result was a little lack-lustre.

Immortal Lash

Kat Von D Immortal Lash

Immortal Lash added a bit more length, around 2-3mm, but the real point of difference was that it got every lash, so even though in real terms the length difference wasn’t that big, it looked like they were much longer.

Winner: Kat Von D Immortal Lash

Volume-Adding Power (is that even a thing?!)

They're Real

They’re Real

Benefit They’re Real

Sorry Benefit, but They’re Real doesn’t lift my lashes much, and it doesn’t add any thickness to them. They look very sparse in the photo above, and sadly IRL too.

IMG_4342

Immortal Lash

Kat Von D Immortal Lash

Kat Von D, thank you for giving my stubby little lashes a volume-boost. My lashes were lifted which made my eyes appear bigger and brighter. My lashes also look a lot thicker.

Winner: Kat Von D Immortal Lash

Staying Power

Benefit They’re Real

Staying power is another big thing. No one wants fall out from their mascara, no one wants panda eyes by lunch time. They’re Real has some of the worst fall out I have ever seen. Even non-waterproof mascaras don’t smudge as badly as this one does. By midday there is mascara in my under-eye creases and smudges under my eyes that make me look absolutely ridiculous.

Kat Von D Immortal Lash

So far, Immortal Lash is looking pretty good on the fall out front. I’ve worn it all day, out in the sun, sweating and oily (so attractive right?), and haven’t had any smudging or fall out.

Winner: Kat Von D Immortal Lash

Colour

Benefit They’re Real

Black is black.

Kat Von D Immortal Lash

Again, it’s black, although because this adds more volume it does look darker.

Winner: It’s a tie!

Price

Benefit They’re Real

$38AUD

Kat Von D Immortal Lash

$29AUD

Winner: Kat Von D Immortal Lash

For a final comparison, here’s a photo of the two mascaras on my face.

On the left: Immortal Lash On the right: They're Real

On the left: Immortal Lash
On the right: They’re Real

I still vote that the Immortal Lash is better, even if they do look similar on, when it comes right down to it the Immortal Lash is cheaper, so if you can’t see the difference (which is fair), based on pricing I’d always go for the Immortal Lash.

Wanna know what my favourite mascara of all time is?

MAYBELLINE Volum’ Express The Mega Plush Mascara

It’s normally $19.95, and you know what? It just works so well.

One thought on “Beauty Battle: Benefit They’re Real V Kat Von D Immortal Lash

Leave a Reply

