Review: Stan TV

Streamed content is the way of the future (and present) with streaming services like Netflix, Stan, Hulu, and Presto getting more and more popular. These services are generally quite affordable, easy to use, and don’t have complicated contracts which you’re stuck with for anything from 6 to 24 months.

Netflix is the undisputed king of streaming services, but when it came to Australia, it was missing a lot of the shows that we were expecting it to carry, largely because those shows are already exclusive to Foxtel, an Australian pay TV service, and who knows what those exclusivity periods are.

When I was shopping around for a streaming service, I looked at Netflix first, and then I looked at Stan and Presto.

Netflix_Web_Logo

Netflix was the popular option, but surprisingly I’d heard a few bad reviews from friends, who said that Netflix Aus was a disappointment, and that if you were to get Netflix, the best option is to get an American VPN and sign us for the US version. Netflix has tiered pricing ranging from $8.99 to $14.99 a month.

555iE1F4009C4CF7E213

Presto was next on the list. Lots of good shows, but I wasn’t a fan of the different plans. Presto TV is $9.99 a month, Presto Movies is $9.99 a month, but if you want both you have to get Presto Entertainment, which is $14.99 a month. So Presto had the same problem as Netflix, why would I want to pay more so I can have both movies and TV? Yeah it’s not a lot of money but still.

a98d94e8.logo-square.cache

So here comes Stan, the Aussie service promoted by Rebel Wilson, everyone’s favourite Aussie actress/comedienne. I’d seen a lot of advertising on TV and on Twitter and Facebook, so I had a look. Not gonna lie, the advertising is pretty weird, featuring unicorns, Rebel in fabulously freaky outfits, and a whole lotta weirdness.

rebel wilson stan TVstan-rap-600-57794

Stan’s first month is free (so is Netflix), and then it’s $10 a month, no tiers, no different plans, just $10 a month for everything the service offers, which includes TV shows, movies, and kids content. Stan also has a LOT of Australian content, which I think is great. Just last week I watched The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert for the first time, and it was incredible. I’ve also watch Upper Middle Bogan, We Can Be Heroes, and Summer Heights High. Aussie comedy is amazing, crass, and so bogan it’s wonderful.

More than that, Stan has RuPaul’s Drag Race, now it’s only got 2 seasons so far so i’m really hoping they add more. RuPaul is #queen and #bae and so #flawless it hurts.

I don’t think I’ve watched much actual TV since I got Stan, because its got so much content, so many movies and TV shows, and they add new stuff every week. I’m watching He’s Just Not That Into You as I type this, and I finished watching the Powerpuff Girls this morning. Plus, Hart of Dixie is on Stan – love love love it – secretly I want my own Wade Kinsella, hellooo hottie!

Screen Shot 2015-10-03 at 10.39.38 am

Overall, I think Stan is a fantastic service. It’s easy to use and you can stream it through Chromecast. I find the iPhone app very user-friendly, but I have struggled to play it on my computer due to some sort of plug-in issue. I suspect this is more a problem with my super-old computer than with Stan, so I just stream through my phone to my TV, which I have to admit is really the best option anyway.

All hail Stan!

Leave a Reply

