Why Is Getting Fit Such A Bitch?

GIMME 20!!!

Just kidding! 1, 2, 3, 4 I declare a fitness war. Hitting the gym has never been more popular, and neither have alternate forms of exercise, including pilates, yoga, running, and dancing. But what’s all the fuss? Exercise has always been important, but it seems like the world has gone workout (and workout wear) crazy! I’m definitely not saying don’t exercise and do eat lots of junk food, but I think the expectations on fitness have risen to the point of insanity. A big part of me thinks this is due to social media. #fitspo is a big thing on Instagram, everyone these days seems to be snapping selfies at the gym and in their #yoga classes, #healthy Acai bowls are all the range, and kale is everyone’s best friend (but really no one’s). Those tanned, lean, ab-tastic people on Insta are giving the rest of us major body envy, not just #bodygoals.

Not gonna lie, I used to be one of those people. Back when I was at uni and had a lot of free time, I was going to the gym before and after class, 6 or 7 days a week, and not really eating much. But you know what? I looked amazing, for the first time I was completely confident in my body, and for the first time I wore crop tops with no fear. The image on this blog is me at my lowest weight since I was 14 and my peak fitness, I only has 10% body fat and my legs were teeny tiny, I even had a #thighgap.

It was incredible, but 2 years on I’ve gained over 10 kilos and lost a lot of confidence. This is largely due to the fact that my situation has changed drastically. I finished uni and starting working full time. I didn’t have the time to train twice a day 7 days a week, and started hitting the gym only once or twice a week. I got busier at week and way more tired. I was less motivated and unenthusiastic, and eventually I was only working out once every couple of weeks. Today, I haven’t been to the gym in 4 months and I feel like crap.

Now, I want to clarify a couple of things.

  1. I’m not unhealthy.
  2. I still try to walk at least 10,000 steps a day and more when possible.
  3. I loved working out and I really miss it – but I work full time and a lot of overtime including weekends, and I’m way too tired when I get home. I just don’t have the motivation.
  4. I don’t think being skinny and having great abs means you’re healthy.

With all that in mind, part of me understands the health craze and part of me doesn’t, but at the end of the day all these unrealistic expectations are really bringing me down and I just wanted to have a little rant. TBH I don’t think this post even made sense.

Leave a Reply

