Review: Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation

Pictured above is the Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation in shade Light 44.

It:

  • Is full coverage

This is 100% true – I use 1 pump and apply with a Beauty Blender, and achieve great coverage that covers all my blemishes, never skin tone, dark circles, and redness. I have a lot of redness on my cheeks that most foundations just can’t cover completely, but this one covers everything with ease, and without having to pile it on. Bye bye concealer!

  • Has a 24-hour wear time

I’ve never attempted to wear foundation for a full 24 hours – mainly because I always remove my makeup before i go to bed – but I do wear it for 12 – 16 hours at a time, and find that it stays in place really well and doesn’t shift throughout the day.

  • Is transfer resistant

I just want to clarify that this foundation is transfer resistant, not transfer proof! I have a nasty combination of super dry and super oily skin (my cheeks and the area around my lips get really dry, but you could fry chips with the oil from my forehead it’s so bad). I find that this foundation transfers quite easily from my forehead, but stays put amazingly well on the rest of my face. To combat this issue, I bought the Blotterazzi.

  • Has a matte finish

Yep. Absolutely. There’s no debating this one, the Lock-It foundation creates a lovely matte base. Simple as that.

  • Is fragrance free

It does have a foundation-y smell, but it hasn’t been perfumed with anything.

  • Is oil free

Checking the ingredients this is true, it also doesn’t feel greasy when you’re applying it. On the flip side it also doesn’t feel chalky or too thick, which is an issue I’ve had with other matte foundations.

  • Is for all skin types

I’m not sure about this one. I find that it can dry my skin out – particularly in my problem areas – and this is something that the staff at Sephora mentioned to me when I purchased it. If you have dry skin, it’s a good idea to moisturise thoroughly before application.

  • Is made in Italy

~fancy~

Overall, this is a fantastic foundation, it matches my skin perfectly, it isn’t too heavy on my skin, and best of all, it’s both suitable for work and for a glam night out. Whenever I wear this foundation, even if I have absolutely no other makeup on, I feel F L A W L E S S.

You can get it here. In Australia it’s only available at Sephora (as far as I know).

Here’s how it looks on 🙂

IMG_3904 IMG_3918 Version 2

And for reference, here’s a photo of me with no make up on – check out that redness!

IMG_2701

2 thoughts on “Review: Kat Von D Lock-It Tattoo Foundation

Leave a Reply

